Bookish updates

Publishing a book is not as easy as it looks and if you doubt me, then have a go at book formatting and you’ll soon find out the challenges! With the day job keeping me busy during the week, I’ve spent the past couple of weekends getting to grips with formatting Magical Masquerade so I can finally upload it to CreateSpace and send off for my proof copies. From there, it’s just a few short weeks to hitting that ‘publish’ button and releasing it to the world…reuben-roses

For now, however, formatting has been keeping me well and truly on my toes. I was always determined to do this bit by myself, and after doing it all wrong last weekend, I might just have managed to get it sorted this weekend. I’m sending it to a trusted friend who knows exactly what’s what in this department however, so she’ll soon let me know if it needs more work. I don’t really want to waste time uploading a manuscript which needs further formatting afterwards, so I want to get it checked before it goes to CreateSpace – just to be sure…

Anyway, besides that (and forgetting for the moment that e-book formatting awaits!), over the past couple of weeks I’ve enjoyed lots of bookish things – both MM related and otherwise.

Radio interview

First up, the lovely Denis McNeill interviewed me about the book on Q Radio – North Coast last week, and you can listen back to that below if you like!

Magical Masquerade page

I also created a Magical Masquerade page here on the blog, which will keep things like press coverage and so on all in the one place, and will include any updates on events etc.

 

The Ghastlingghastling

The Ghastling journal also flew in the door as well, so I got my hands at last on book five of this, which is packed full of spooky tales (my own included) and is just really well put together. Well worth a read!

 

Waterstones poetry competition

I was also delighted to hear that one of my poems was chosen by Waterstones Coleraine as one of 12 winners in their Women Aloud NI Poetry Competition.waterstones-wani

The poems are now on display in the store to celebrate women writers and you can find out more about Women Aloud NI’s 2017 events (happening this week!) by clicking the linked name above (in blue).

Women Aloud NI 2017

This week will be full of literary treats, as I’m taking part in a Women Aloud NI reading event in Derry on Wednesday evening. I’m also heading into Waterstones on Thursday to get photographed with the other winning poets, and then Saturday is the Women Aloud  NI trip to Dublin – #WomenXBorders. This will include an in-train recital from Belfast to Dublin, along with a readathon and panel discussions at the Irish Writers’ Centre when we get there, plus a mass reading to finish up. So, it will be a busy day for women writers in NI and the ROI!

women-aloud-events

So, all in all, there’s a lot going on, but it’s all good, it’s all on track, and I’ll keep you updated. 🙂

PS Thanks to the lovely Anna Macaulay, who gave me the beautiful yellow roses that the fullsizerender-16pup is inspecting at the top of this post … and to Liza Rae, for the gorgeous gem earrings and card. These weren’t expected at all, but are much appreciated pre-publication book gifts!

Leave a comment

Filed under Self-publishing

Leave a Reply

