Cover credentials

They say don’t judge a book by a cover but let’s face it, we all do. A cool cover is what stops us in our tracks in a bookstore. It entices us to pick up one book over another and, even if we don’t end up buying that particular novel, we’ve still been seduced in some way by its appearance. (The Bone Clocks cover certainly caught my attention!)

bone clocks

So – just how do you go about creating a good cover for your book and what are the vital ingredients? Well, I’m a writer but I’m also an avid book-buyer so, while I’m in no way a professional in this area, I do have some inkling of what might work and what might not.

I also know that a boring, dull cover won’t make much of an impression on kids, so when you’re thinking of a younger age-group, you’ve got to be spot on with the design. Thankfully, my cover designer is going through a fairly in-depth process with me at the minute to uncover the essential ingredients of my own book, so hopefully it will represent the story as I imagine.

Yes – work has begun on the cover of my book! I’ve spent the past week answering a number of questions about the story, the characters, the writing, covers I like and covers I don’t like which are already out there, and much more.

I’ve taken my time over it and have only the book blurb for the back cover left to upload, which I’ve decided to copy in below if anyone feels like giving feedback on it. I’d be interested to hear what you think and what it conveys to you!

library-425730_1280For me, a professionally designed book cover is of great importance. As a soon to be independently published author I want my novel to have the look of one that’s been traditionally published as much as possible. It should look just as good in its design as any other book, otherwise why would anyone want to buy it?

I write because I love it and self-publishing is a way of getting my stories out into the world just as anyone else in the creative industries is wont to do with their work. However, when you put something up for sale, it becomes a product and that requires investment in how that product looks, to ensure that whoever buys it will get something worth buying. My years of writing, the editing process and the professional cover design are all part of this. I want to create something that I’m happy to sell to people and that I would want to buy myself as a reader.

From my jumble of ideas, a cover will soon emerge and I’m excited to see how it takes shape over the next few weeks and what the end result will look like…

Book blurb

‘It’s the tale of a girl, just a little too thin.

When she went to the beach one sparkling spring day,

She picked up a pebble

…and it whisked her away.’

 Summoned to the Fairy Realm by the curious Pebble People, Felicity is faced with not one, but two adventurous quests in a world which mirrors her own but is full of hidden magic. Can she stop the mysterious pebble thieves before it’s too late and will she solve the Rhyming Riddler’s puzzles before she’s trapped in Fairyland forever?

With witches, goblins, fairies and all sorts of tricks and enchantments to contend with, Felicity’s most startling discovery, however, is yet to come…

 

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Self-publishing

2 responses to “Cover credentials

  1. Joanne Vogiatzis

    Loving the blurb!! Just enough to catch your interest and then whet your appetite for more! Can’t wait to get my hands on it 😊

Leave a Reply

