Storybook timeline…

So, since my last post I’ve now got a much more definite timeline for my children’s novel, which is making everything seem just that little bit more real now… Thanks to NI editor, Averill Buchanan, I now have a very good copy-editor in Dublin booked for November 1, with a timeline in place for each part of the editing process for the book. The first stage will definitely be completed before Christmas and then I’ll likely spend the Christmas holidays revising the manuscript one last time before the final copy-edit in the New Year.

blackberry-reading

Reading my poem at the Blackberry Path Art Studios recently

Once I get the manuscript back from that edit, I’ll then revise it again, get the proofreading done and hey presto – CreateSpace here I come! (Gulp).

 

Aside from this, I’ve also got my cover designer booked, so work on that will kick off later this month, and is set to be completed in October. At the moment I have vague notions of what I want this to look like but honestly, nothing concrete, so I’m very interested to see what they come up with. Of course, I really want to love it and I have to feel it represents the story the way I want it to, so I’m feeling both excited and a little nervous about this! The great thing is, from next month I’ll be able to start sharing the cover design, which is almost as good as having the book itself (but not quite…)

Long story, short – the aim is still to have a springtime publication date (once everything’s done I still have formatting to contend with…), so all is on track! My beta readers are still reading away, so hopefully I’ll get some feedback from them soon but in the meantime, all systems are in place as much as they can be. (I feel too organised and I suspect this probably won’t last…)book-1169437_1280

Next weekend, I’ll be attending a day-long sci-fi/fantasy writing event at Ballyeamon Barn, near Cushendall, when author Jo Zebedee will be sharing her self-publishing experience and also her traditional publishing experience, as well as chatting about all things writing. I’m looking forward to this, and to meeting some other writers who so far, I only know through social media. Also hoping to pick up some advice on the SP front, so I’ll let you know how it goes.

Short stories and poetry are a little on hold at the moment, but I’m editing away at a few stories and ideas are bubbling for more, so I’m planning to get started on something new there soon. Lots to get on with! I’ll keep you posted!

4 Comments

Filed under Self-publishing

4 responses to “Storybook timeline…

  1. I’ve just been reading over your blog and website. Good to hear you’re planning to release your children’s novel next year – I’m sure it’ll do great! 🙂
    Just wanted to ask: the short story collection and poetry book that you previously got a grant for – were they ever published? And, if so, where can I find them?

    • Hi Ellie. Thanks for reading and commenting! I haven’t done anything with the short story and poetry collection yet. I have had some of the poems and stories published in journals and anthologies but not as complete collections. The Arts Council don’t publish the work you create – their role is providing a grant to give you some financial support in creating it and then it’s up to you what you do with the writing. But I’ll hopefully get to doing something with them soon! 🙂

  2. Joanne Vogiatzis

    Amazing news Claire!! I know two little boys who will be very happy to read your book 🙂 Keep us all posted. Well done!!!

Leave a Reply

