Reading:writing ratio

In the past couple of weeks I’ve been doing a heck of a lot of writing – just not necessarily the fictional kind. Yes, copywriting has been consuming my time, but my own stories have not been totally neglected – I’m currently editing one I wrote a little while ago to send out to a journal and I’m determined to get more words on the page during what’s left of this weekend.Flying letters

I’m in a bit of a reading haze at the minute though. Some writers don’t like to read a lot or indeed, at all, while they’re writing – particularly books in their own genre – but what can I say, I like to multi-task. Reading feeds the imagination and to me, not to read while you write is to deny yourself literary sustenance for no good reason. Plus, it’s just good to take a break from your own words for a while with someone else’s.

I think most people are tuned in enough to stop themselves from blatantly copying work they read, and the great thing is – you just never know what ideas it might spark off for your own story…

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings on writing

Leave a Reply

