Creative links

photo 3Yesterday I was delighted to pick up my copy of SHIFT Lit -Derry, which is a really nicely produced local writing magazine crammed full of poetry, stories and art. This third edition took on the theme of women, and I met some of the other contributors and the SHIFT Lit team as they launched the magazine at the Women of the World Festival in Derry.

During my visit to the city, I also enjoyed meeting lawyer/crime writer, Desmond J Doherty, as well as taking in a double book launch from Sam Burnside, who has a new book of poetry and a book of children’s stories out. All in all, it was a busy day of writing events and I’ll have links soon on my articles page here with regards the interview with Des and the review of the launch (if anyone’s interested).

Far left - Geraldine and Aine from SHIFT Lit, with two contributors to the mag.

Far left – Geraldine and Aine from SHIFT Lit, with two contributors to the mag.

As for my own scribblings – it’s been more of an editing job this week, but I went to a poetry lecture on Thursday which has got me thinking on some new ideas, and I feel there’s another short story ready to be written!

My other writing news this week is that I was very pleased to learn that my short story for children – The Wishing Tree -has been accepted for publication in the inaugural edition of the new NI journal for children’s writing, The Launchpad.

11045486_10153132938600877_1332391419223408004_nSo, it’s been a good week for writerly things with me, although next week, I hope to put a bit more ink in my notebooks. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Short stories

Leave a Reply

