Meandering on…

Following on from last week’s flurry of poetic activity, I’ll admit, I haven’t been quite as proactive this week, although I did manage to pen four more poems and did a little bit of prose writing. I also managed to find Ted Hughes’ Birthday Letters in my local second-hand bookstore on Saturday (along with a few great books from some Irish writers, including Edna O’Brien and Colum McCann!).

photo (3)I really need another bookcase…

There are so many great books, stories and poems out there already that it seems sometimes futile to be attempting to add to their number, but then, this is why it’s so important to mix contemporary writing with what has gone before when reading. The oldies are great, but new writers shouldn’t be forgotten or ignored, as they’re the next link on the literary chain. However, on the other hand, modern writers shouldn’t, I think, be consumed without any enjoyment of their predecessors as well. It’s a balancing act, as I really believe the best reading experience is to have a blend of both. You can’t read everything in your lifetime but, well, you can try!

As for me – I’m currently in somewhat of a ‘what’s gone before’ phase, reading the likes of Hughes and Edna O’Brien and also just now, a book from the 80s by Polly Devlin, although I’m also reading the latest short story collection from Tramp Press and have got a few other new novels waiting on the sidelines. With books, as you can see, I have no issue with simultaneous reading!

Meanwhile, my own writing tootles along somewhere in between all of this, being both inspired and frightened off after reading all of these literary greats… 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Short stories

Leave a Reply

