Are you a rapidly writing writer…?

As a blogger myself, I try to keep up with other writing blogs as much as I can, as it’s always inspiring/uplifting/interesting to hear different people’s points of views and how their own writing journeys are progressing. This week I happened upon a blog which dismissed the idea of writing rapidly, which I found quite ironic as my friend (a successfully published author) had also written during the week about the advantages of writing quickly, one such example being NaNoWriMo.superhero-534120_1280

It got me to thinking and despite all the theoretical pros and cons, I came to this conclusion – do what suits you best. It’s simple but effective advice!

As someone who likes to be busy and to do things quickly (but well), I write as often as I can and as quickly as I can. Sometimes, this means I write an entire short story or poem in a night, do some editing and it’s pretty much done. Great. Other times, it takes weeks or months to perfect a story (and then, is it really ever ‘perfect’…?) and that’s okay too. And that’s just short fiction.

With a novel, I’m of the opinion that if you can write quickly, get it on paper and go at your own pace, then if it takes an intensive month, great; if it takes two years, great; if it takes 10 years (as the Pulitzer prize-winning novel, All the Light We Cannot See did), then why not? clock

Writing can be done quickly, depending on the writer and the ideas that they have. Pre-planning will assist with the speed, although if you’re anything like me, you’ll find yourself going off on tangents all over the show. It’s the editing, the re-drafting, the editing again, the rewriting etc. etc. which happens over and over again that will finally result in the completed novel. And that takes time. A lot of it. And that’s ok.

Writing rapidly? I say, if you can do it, go for it! Things like NaNoWriMo give people a deadline, which tends to keep you focused and motivated, and as a journalist, well, I’m all for that. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Are you a rapidly writing writer…?

  1. Pingback: Freewriting on freewriting: A writing exercise | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

