Writerly styles…

imageI may be 30 years late to this book, but The Magician by Raymond E. Feist is one that has always caught my eye over the years and finally, I picked it up in a pile of secondhand books a month or so ago. I’m now reading it, alongside Pond by Claire-Louise Bennett, and wondering why I didn’t do this sooner…

The books are poles apart in their content and style, one also being a rather lengthy novel, the other a collection of short stories. With the first, I slipped into the story immediately and am keen to keep reading, but with the latter, I’m finding it harder to love. Which isn’t to say I don’t like it, but the style is terrifically different – a rambling type of prose that I thought I’d really like, given I’m a fan of Virginia Woolf and James Joyce.image

It’s good to read writing that challenges you though, as well as the writing that fits like an old shoe, so I think I’ve got a good mix of that here! I’m still pushing on with my own writing, and managed to pin down a story this morning that I’d made notes on a while back – a story unlike the ones in my recently submitted collection.

I read on with gusto and I continue to be inspired! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Writerly styles…

  1. I’ve become more and more of the opinion that almost all reading is good reading. Even if it’s bad, I learn a lot when I turn back to my own.

    • Yes, I agree Jackie. And since writing this post on Sunday night, I’ve now finished Pond and actually ended up really liking it. It doesn’t follow traditional narrative style and is very poetic in its form – to the point that many times you really have no idea where the narrator’s coming from – but I like the unusualness of it and not knowing where you would be taken next!

Leave a Reply

