Writers unite!

I’ve just finished reading NI writer Carlo Gebler’s latest book, Confessions of a Catastrophist, and I thought I’d share a few quotes from it. Certainly, reading the parts about ‘the literary life’ in the book showed me that in Carlo, there’s a kindred spirit.  And I quote:image

“This was one of the great curiosities of literary endeavour. Work never looked like the product of hard work… Some of my paranoid writer friends have always believed that this was the real reason no one liked paying us… The better something was, the less the effort to make it showed.”

Here’s another that will maybe resound with some of my own ‘paranoid writer friends!’

“…the strange expectation of so many in the world that as a writer, one is happy to work for free. ‘Would you ask a plumber to plumb for nothing, a coffin maker to make a coffin for nothing? No, but writers are endlessly expected to put out for nothing.'”

Anyway, I just thought I’d share those with you! I’m currently editing my poetry and story collection to send to the Arts Council this week, so it’s all go! Why, I ask, am I getting lots more ideas now at this final stage?! But I have quite a bit of writing accumulated over the year,  so I think I’m done. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

