When poetry and art collide

photo 1In recent weeks, I’ve devoted myself more to the writing of poetry than of short stories (although I’m back to the stories again now), and this week I visited the MAC in Belfast for the launch of the latest edition of poetry/art journal, Abridged.

I like it when different art forms collide, and this particular edition was created in conjunction with the art exhibition, I will go there, take me home, curated by Abridged editor, Gregory McCartney.

I was also lucky enough to have one of my poems, Spinning Shadows, included in the edition.11201869_10152769665350877_4488013456649642690_n

The overall initiative considered the theme of ‘the end of things,’ and the poetry was inspired by Dante’s purgatory in his epic poem, The Divine Comedy.

It’s always interesting to see how different poets interpret the same theme, and viewing the art linked in to this project gave it a whole other perspective. Indeed, through the various mediums of writing, painting, photography and installation, it presented a compelling new world to explore…

photo 3I’m keeping it short and sweet this week, as I’m intent on getting stuck into another short story and, while ideas are swimming around in my head, they must be caught and put on paper!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

