Inspired by Space…ships

Image

Day four of NaPoWriMo and the prompt is to write a poem with the title drawn from an Iain Banks spaceship name. I have chosen:

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts

The girl she is small, not lanky or tall

the man he is scary – not caring at all

Her family can’t cope

they think he is hope

But he sells her to feed his addiction to dope.

It might make the news, probably beaten by Tax

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

His brown eyes beseech – he just wanted to play

but sadly he got in their way today

A kick and a yelp

no-one here who will help

Just one tale like many – of Milo or Max

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

She lashes at him, he lashes at her

who started it – who wants to look in the mirror?

Her eye becomes black, he sneers at her fear

no sign of endearment – never, not here.

Just who will prevent these awful attacks?

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

The bottle it clinks, as he peeps through the chinks

no noise must he make – though he shudders and shakes

They said she would stop – go to meetings and yet

nothing has happened, just as he bet

It might make the courts page, if she gets lax

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

I used to live there, now I sleep here

hugging my blanket, my bottle of beer

I know what they think

won’t happen to them

but I had it once, my own homely gem

Please open your ears, to the sound of my sax

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

We might wear hoods and hang out in groups

but we’re not all a danger to you and your troops

We laugh and we cry and we have fun like you

but we’re misunderstood – by them and by you.

We often make news

they’re all at our backs

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

I look just like you, just a little more worn

my money has gone and my life has been torn

But I still battle on – there is always some way

maybe tomorrow, next month

or today.

So please don’t dismiss me, think I’m off the tracks

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

